[April Goals: Digital Detox]

Digital Detox – noun – a period of time during which a person refrains from using electronic devices such as smartphones or computers, regarded as an opportunity to reduce stress or focus on social interaction in the physical world.

Recently, I have been reading a lot of blogs on WordPress, and the same phrase has kept appearing: “Digital Detox.” I continued to dig a little, reading articles on the internet entitled the following – ‘What Really Happens To Your Brain And Body During A Digital Detox‘ , ‘9 ways to start (and stick to) a digital detox‘ and ‘DIGITAL DETOX 101‘, before stumbling on an interesting website dedicated to Summer Camps for adults which focus on life away from technology and the internet * [http://campgrounded.org/] *.

Now I’m not off to California in May to join the event, I assure you. For one I do not own a passport, and secondly, as a broke student I do not have the money. But I thought it’d be interesting to do a little Digital Detox of my own whilst I am at home for the month. It’d be really beneficial for my revision, but more importantly, my own sanity as I am a self-confessed internet addict, who can’t keep their hands off social media for long periods of time.

I love to check Facebook, and post on Instagram, and secure all of my Snapchat streaks for another day, but something has to give. And therefore April is going to become the month of the Digital Detox challenge.

Following the advice written on ‘DIGITAL DETOX 101’, I am starting small and leaving my phone alone during revision time, instead of completely banning myself from my phone/laptop all together. This normally takes place at 8am-6pm, but I will allow myself to update my blog and post the new topic of conversation to my WordPress Instagram account * – this is an important and relaxing hobby of mine and giving it up for a month would probably do more harm than good*.  However, my personal Instagram account will remain untouched for the rest of the month. I know this will be easily beneficial to me as in a previous post – [What I’m Giving Up For Lent] – I have mentioned how it is hard not to compare yourself to others on platforms such as Instagram.

I will also try my hardest to stay off of Facebook during the day too, but at night I will allow myself some time to reply to important messages from my friends and classmates. Twitter is not an issue as I do not have it anyway, and neither is Whatsapp because I only use it at university to ask my flatmates why the kitchen is in such a state again.

What I hope to achieve from this is a very productive month, where I can churn out my coursework without stopping to see who has updated their profile pictures, and revise without reading a passive aggressive Whatsapp message.

I’ll keep you updated with how it goes.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Petal Hugs says:

    Oooh. I wanna try this one too. Thank you for the idea!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

